Skip to content

What Kind of Bride Are You?

June 2, 2011

Before you start figuring out whether you want a church wedding or a beach wedding, lilies, peonies, or tulips, it helps to determine your overall “bridal style.” As different as brides are, most tend to fall into one of four broad categories. Take this quiz and find out if you’re a Dreamer, a Perfectionist, a Rookie, or a Nonconformist. Naturally, everyone exhibits some degree of overlap; even a hardcore Dreamer has a Nonconformist tendency or two. Think of each category as a different kind of shoe-each wonderful in its own way! – Mindy Weiss

1. How long have you been thinking about you wedding?
a. Since I was five
b. For two years (since I started going to so many friends’ weddings).
c. For two weeks (since the day I got engaged)
d. I was never even really sure Id have one!

2. What kind of organizational system will you use to manage the wedding?
a. Excel spreadsheet on a portable electronic device
b. Paper files, organized by category, filled with pictures I like from magazines
c. Honestly? Little scraps of paper floating around my purse
d. Why would I need an organizational system? I’m planning a party, not a trip to outer space

3. How many bridal magazines are in your home right now?
a. 0
b. 1-3
c. 4-9
d. 10 or more

4. If you had the means, would you quit your job to plan your wedding?
a. It would be lovely!
b. I’ve requested several weeks off and delegated my most involved projects, so it should be okay.
c. Is it really going to be all that time-consuming? I’m getting kind of nervous
d. That’s preposterous

5. The day after you got engaged, you:
a. Went about your regular routine.
b. Hid under a blanket (it’s all so overwhelming).
c. Tried on gowns and called everyone you knew.
d. Went to the health club and stocked up on celery.

6. When shopping for a wedding gown, whom do you plan to bring with you?
a. My wedding planner.
b. My mother and my best friend since childhood
c. My husband-to-be
d. The priest?

7. What do you think your wedding dress will look like?
a. Fitted bodice, ballgown skirt, and a train-I’ve been picturing it since I was twelve.
b. Something white or ivory with a poofy thing here or there?
c. No white. I want to wear something nontraditional.
d. How can I possibly answer that until I’ve visited every bridal store within a fifty-mile radius?

8. Your ideal shower would be?
a. I would think three: A lingerie shower, a kitchen shower, and a couples shower
b. None – I think showers are a form of torture.
c. Does that happen before or after the wedding?
d. An afternoon get-together at a spa – there’s nothing better than champagne with a mani-pedi

9. What dishes will be on your registry?
a. I already have dishes. I don’t need new ones. Do I?
b. I’m asking that people donate to charity rather than give me gifts.
c. Three sets: Formal china, everyday dishes, and patterned accent plates to vary the look.
d. The same pattern my mom registered for when she got married – I just loved it!

10. Which of the following comes closest to describing your ideal wedding cake?
a. Stacked tiers – perfectly coordinated to the color scheme, or course – in different flavors so everyone goes home happy.
b. Yummy, pretty, and white. Did I mention yummy?
c. White buttercream icing, clusters of colorful flowers, and a bride-and-groom cake topper. Swoon…
d. An ice cream sundae buffet! I’d rather have a sundae over cake any day.

11. What kind of shoes will you be wearing under your wedding dress?
a. White satin, of course, carefully chosen to match the exact shade of the dress
b. Cream-colored, open-toe pumps for the ceremony and light gray skimmers for the reception
c. Don’t they just come with the dress?!
d. My favorite part of hot-pink Converse- my wedding won’t soon be forgotten

12. Do you have an idea of who your bridesmaids will be?
a. My three best friends since high school.
b. My golden retriever.
c. I haven’t decided yet, but I’ll take into account length of friendship, level of enthusiasm, and general responsibility.
d. Please stop asking me questions I don’t have the answer to!

To find out what kind of bride you are … leave a comment with your answers and we’ll send it to you! Enjoy!

Credits: Mindy Weiss Quiz, Jose Villa Image

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny Roberts permalink
    June 6, 2011 10:50 AM

    Here are my answers!

    1. B
    2. C
    3. B
    4. C
    5. C
    6. B
    7. A
    8. A
    9. C
    10. A
    11. B
    12. A

Leave a Reply

